Book time for camshaft install

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sierkonblazer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Book time as in a dealership? Most performance shops will charge between $1000-$1500 for a cam install, including parts..

2007tahoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
do it yourself, make the dowls to raise your lifters.

Shouldnt take you longer than 1.5 hours..

Lol, It would take longer than that with the eng out sitting on a stand. It is 18.6 shop hrs just for the camshaft not including the springs. That is the actual number from my 2007 tahoe not some unbelievable out of thin air number like 1.5 . I was a certified tech and you have to be pretty quick to meet the flag hr. 1000-1500 would be a very close est if you supply the parts. If you have changed one before go for it, it just might take longer than you expect.

Last edited:

ezdaar

Chat Troll
Supporting Member
Reaction score
lol. you should see how we work then, cause its simple and fast..
18.6 hours is a joke.

That book also claims 8.5 hours to swap a heater core in a 99 lincoln town car. I did it in 2. with no manual and never having done it before.

Last edited:

2007tahoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
lol. you should see how we work then, cause its simple and fast..
18.6 hours is a joke.

That book also claims 8.5 hours to swap a heater core in a 99 lincoln town car. I did it in 2. with no manual and never having done it before.

Congrats, you what a cookie? I donot care if you did it in 35 seconds. The shop still would have charged you 8.5 hrs labor b/c that is what the book states.

14 - Camshaft
12593207 $293.68

Labor Information Skill Level Mfg. Warranty Standard

Camshaft

Replace
warranty 14.5 hrs no warranty 18.6 hrs

2007tahoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score