AC - Extreme High Pressure on “High Side”

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mridgewayii

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hi Folks

So I have a strange one and I suspect I know what I will find but wanted opinions first.

2003 Tahoe Z71 Automatic Climate Control with Aux Cooling in rear. 5.3L with about 300K on the clock. I have owned it the last 70K. As background I was a GM tech 20 years ago so I know I’m rusty but not my first rodeo but this one is perplexing.

AC was working fine then wife said “AC is broken”. Okay. Gauges on. About 100 PSI not running.

IMG_1816.jpeg

Signal PCM for AC, low pressure drops to about 45 and high starts climbing. Low pressure side of orifice tube gets cold and high side gets hot. All good.

Shortly after - low side starts warming up and high side gets really hot. Look at the gauges and it’s pushing 350 PSI and keeps climbing. Naturally I turn compressor signal off before it blows o rings or hoses.

IMG_1818.jpeg

I repeat the same process and get the same results.

My first thought is plugged orifice tube but why isn’t the compressor shutting down at the high pressure limit? My only guess is either the previous owner put some great AC Stop Leak in it and plugged up the orifice and the high pressure sensor (assuming it has one?) or the compressor is about the grenadine and I’m going to find a mess.

I have to run it by a shop and get the refrigerant evacuated so looking for options before I get started.

Thanks in advance!

(Below image was third cycle of the AC button so it had not completely equalized so low side has already claimed a bit. )
IMG_1819.jpeg

Last edited:

OR VietVet

Multnomah Falls
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Welcome to your first post at the forum.