Ice on windshield

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tom Joad

French V8 lover.
Reaction score
HI,
Because your winter are more heavier and snowy than ours, you may be more experienced and told me a few trick.

How do you manage to get rid of the ice that is pressed down by the windshield wiper on the lower part of the windshield?
In heavy snow fall, you gotta get out every half an hour to remove it... It's boring (and freezing!)

I know some states does not salt roads in winter. How do you drive on icy roads? Do you use chains? Or thos new kind of wheel socks?

chevy529

Reaction score
I live in Northern Canada so I have some experience with icy roads etc. but I'm not sure what you are asking?

If you want to know how I deal with ice build up BELOW the wiper ... I don't. It isn't in my vision. I ignore it. It doesn't affect me in any way unless it is blocking air flow through your cowl. If it is you have a defrost problem. I've never had it happen.

As for driving on icy roads, I drive .... carefully. No sudden movements of the steering wheel, be cognizant of what your vehicle is doing. No sudden braking. If you let off the throttle and you start to skid, you steer into the skid and gently apply throttle to straighten out. Pretend you have a full champagne glass on your dash.

I've used chains but only when I drove a 2 wheel drive and that was 2x in 20 years. I've used chains on heavy trucks however. Often.

If you need chains on a passenger vehicle ... stay home. Unless it's a hospital you are going to.

But if you NEED chains buy a REAL set. Not those goofy cable chain things. Socks? Seriously?

Trygg brand from Norway makes excellent chains. If you have enough clearance. Check your countries laws about chain use.

And finally, speed is your enemy. Get there late but get there alive!