Which PowerProbe to buy

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Matthew Jeschke

Full Access Member
Reaction score
All my vehicles are old. They run great minus a few nuances... However, I'll be Daw Gone Nutz if I don't have pesky electrical problems. I'm going to pickup some of these power probe tools. Currently biggest problems are in my 1999 C5 Corvette. Dash flickers and speedometer just stopped working *ug* car is cherry aside from this and AC not working. Cannot drive it now though cause I have no speedometer. This is the biggest project that needs help. Poor car has sat for nearly 6 years because of these issues. I've drove MAYBE 100 miles in that time.

I have very little experience with these types of tools though. So any suggestions or alternative / better tools would be appreciated...

Long story short, I think I will get the ECT3000 to find circuit faults... I've studied various kits, magnet tools, etc etc etc. I borrowed a telephone wiring system that works on similar concept but thought this tool might be a good one for my DIY / at home shop. That's this one:

My biggest confusion is with the power probe itself though. The PP2 & PP3 are pretty basic. I like the PP4 in that it has some built in tests for alternator, injectors, etc. However, anybody use this Maestro one? It appears to have an Oscilloscope of sorts in it (I have used an oscope to diagnose problems a few times)?

I can also test the injectors and alternator with a DMM so not entirely sure... Does anybody have experience with these. I'm kind of leaning towards the PP4. One thing I hate though is buying a tool to only need the bigger tool at some point and have to purchase it again. In nearly every case my tools have paid for themselves.

exp500

Full Access Member
Reaction score