upgrading audio...Where to start?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tahoe_SSV

Reaction score
Hello all, I am looking to upgrade my audio system and I am fairly new to setting up systems. I already put a "budget" sub & amp in. I have dual 12" MTX Terminator 2000w Max ( 500w RMS each) hooked up to a Kenwood KAC 1000W mono amp. It actually pounds pretty good considering how big the Tahoe is (third row seat removed). But I want better and louder. I also have a " budget " head unit. It is JVC KWv250BT. I am looking at selling everything I have in the Tahoe now and starting from scratch. Can anyone give me an idea on what I should start with? Maybe a full list of what to get? Types of speakers and where to put them. Any brand recommendations would be helpful to. I'd like to keep my budget under $2000 if I can. I appreciate any help and advice you all can give me.

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
"better and Louder" That is not much of an explanation of specifically what your desires are for a new audio system.

A description of the type of music that you typically listen to would be helpful.

Is your desire to hear great music within the truck, or is your desire to set off alarms on cars nearby?

A budget of $2000 won't get you a much better and louder system over what you have right now.

When I think of "better and louder", but not competition quality, I think of the following:

Head unit: $1000+

Amp(s) to power everything: $1500+

Subwoofers and enclosure: $750+

Door and post speakers for front and rear doors: $1000+

Fast_AT4

RWM +1
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Cant say enough good things about Sundown Subs/Amps for the loud/deep bass.

OP
OP
Tahoe_SSV

Tahoe_SSV

Reaction score