Update to adding trans temp gauge...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

toddis32

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Posts
47
Reaction score
5
Location
Wi
Someone may have programmed it already. Usually when I program an 06 the value at 59 is 03 and I change it to 00. Never had any issues with an 06 model.
 

ChevyDawg22

TYF Newbie
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Posts
3
Reaction score
2
Someone may have programmed it already. Usually when I program an 06 the value at 59 is 03 and I change it to 00. Never had any issues with an 06 model.


So a 2006 cluster with 00 on the 59 block should work? I will try again and see what happens.
 

toddis32

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Posts
47
Reaction score
5
Location
Wi
Yes. I always read the device again after programming just to make sure the programming stuck.
 

johnathanpotts

TYF Newbie
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Posts
2
Reaction score
1
I rebuild clusters and I have seen clusters with stock bulbs in the trans temp position but never had trans temp motors. Haven’t figured out if there’s any rhyme or reason to it though.

Never heard anything about trans temp backlights being there when the gauge wasn't. Might be true, just never heard of it.

As for your question about turning on the feature. I'm still working on figuring out the rest of the contents of the eeprom, so no guarantee that there aren't some subtleties that I don't yet understand. But, at least in the two clusters that I have programmed, it is pretty simple.

In general I am happy to help others out, and don't mind doing it. I am a little concerned about being held responsible if something were to go wrong.
 

BigBadSubaru

TYF Newbie
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Posts
4
Reaction score
4
Anyone have any idea where it's stored in the EEPROM (if it is stored there) whether it is a truck or SUV cluster? My 03 Suburban came with a truck cluster in it and I want to get rid of the "service brake booster" message at startup without having to drop a Benjamin at the Chevy dealer... I have the programmer on the way to reprogram it to the correct mileage and such; happy to provide a dump of the chip if that helps figure it out if it's not known where it's stored.
 

BigBadSubaru

TYF Newbie
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Posts
4
Reaction score
4
So I figured it out, the processor in the cluster must just use the model ID, I changed the model ID (the four letters on the sticker on the back, on mine they were DWFY, changed them to DSXR (I used a high tech method - searched Google for a 2003 Suburban instrument cluster image, got lucky and found one with a picture of the label on the back) and programmed the chip with that along with the correct mileage, plugged it back in and now it doesn't throw the "service brake booster" message at startup, and says "driver door ajar" if the door is open instead of "driver 1" :)
 

BigBadSubaru

TYF Newbie
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Posts
4
Reaction score
4
Well, I spoke too soon, the "service brake booster" message is back :-( I've also seen where other GMT800s have more in the menu thank just trip, hours, and odo - stuff like oil life, distance to empty, etc... Would be cool if I could somehow unlock those menus in mine! any ideas?
 

mattt

Full Access Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Posts
738
Reaction score
307
Well, I spoke too soon, the "service brake booster" message is back :-( I've also seen where other GMT800s have more in the menu thank just trip, hours, and odo - stuff like oil life, distance to empty, etc... Would be cool if I could somehow unlock those menus in mine! any ideas?
Do you have the steering wheel control buttons? That is the only way to access those other options, which is nice to have, speaking from experience.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
130,402
Posts
1,831,928
Members
94,014
Latest member
blackVenom

Latest posts

Top