Trying to diagnose an EVAP issue.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Fireball5657

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
This is my first post on this forum, so if I'm in the wrong place, feel free to let me know.

Hello all, my Suburban has been doing the dreaded "kicking off after a gallon of fuel" and I am trying to diagnose why. I do have a code P0449, which is for the vent solenoid, but I have disconnected the hose that goes to the vent solenoid and it still kicks off after a gallon or so. I took the small hose from the canister to the solenoid off, cleaned it out, and it still won't work. I decided to go farther in the system and disconnect the hose that goes from the tank to the canister on the canister side, but it didn't change anything. Now, my diagnostic skills may be a little off, and I've never done EVAP system work before, but at this point it has to be either the sender or the hose from the tank to the canister right? And if it is that hose from the tank to the canister, is there any way to clean it out without taking it off the tank?

The Suburban in question is a 1500 2005 model with the L59. Should be the one in my signature if I set that up correctly.

OP
OP
F

Fireball5657

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
most of the time this is caused by a faulty fuel vapor canister. they are filled with charcoal pellets and they break free and clog the vent lines.

heres a vid.