Transmission problems?!?

Discussion in 'Engine & Drivetrain' started by Chase Epperson, Sep 30, 2018.

  1. Chase Epperson

    Chase Epperson TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Name:
    Chase
    I need help diagnosing a problem on my 03 Tahoe. The other day I was driving at a normal hwy speed and everything appeared to be working properly. I pulled up to a red light and when I went to take off it didn’t downshift to 1st. Instead it tried taking off in 2nd. I pulled over, killed the truck, started it back, and it drove like normal. After that I drove another 45 minutes back home problem free. So I was thinking maybe some kind of electrical bug and just overlooked it. The next day I was heading to work and everything was working fine. I was cruising at 60 and all of the sudden it acted like it was in neutral. It wouldn’t go anywhere when I gave it gas. So I pulled off and came to a stop and went to take off again and it worked fine for a couple miles then all of the sudden it would do it again. So finally after this happening 4 or 5 times I left it on the side of the road and caught a ride to work. Anyone ever had this problem or know what it might be? Also the trans has been rebuilt within the past 20k-30k miles.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Mooseman93

    Mooseman93 TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Name:
    Doug
    I hope I'm not sending you on a useless exercise here but I had some really strange transmission problems. Turns out a small critter had made a home in the engine fuse/electrical box and had eaten through several wires.

    You can remove the top part of the box without too much trouble to get to the huge bundle of wires underneath. I had to splice and solder about 6 wires but afterwards it was as good as new, even fixed my outside temperature display!
     
  3. SnowDrifter

    SnowDrifter Full Access Member

    Posts:
    591
    Likes Received:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Location:
    Wa
    Name:
    Chris
    If your trans was rebuild that recently, I'd first get in contact with your builder before you do anything. Not worth risking losing warranty
     
    RaiderRodney likes this.
  4. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Elite Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    1,975
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    it's really hard to say but what you are describing sounds like a solenoid issue, by that I mean a solenoid could be going bad and it doesn't want to do it's job they get worn and sticky, the good news it's usually a relatively cheap fix usually around $250 to replace both solenoids (at a shop), I say both because it's advisable to just do them both at the same time since there both right beside each other, there is a 1-2 solenoid and a 3-4 solenoid. It's a fairly common problem and even if it was rebuilt if the old solenoids were functional they probably just put them back in.
     
  5. Chase Epperson

    Chase Epperson TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Name:
    Chase
    The warranty is already up on it. I did get in contact with the shop that built it and they’re going to diagnose it for free. The guy also said he would help me out since they’re the ones that built it in the first place. Hopefully it’s nothing too serious. It sounds electrical to me, but I’m for damn sure not a transmission builder so what do I know? Anyways I appreciate the input!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Tonyrodz likes this.
  6. Bigbeardenali1992

    Bigbeardenali1992 Full Access Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    2,941
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Location:
    Big Bear Lake, ca
    Name:
    Chase
    Hey another never named chase!! Haha. Get any updates on your trans?!
     
  7. Chase Epperson

    Chase Epperson TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Name:
    Chase
    Yes I got it fixed by the same shop that built it for me. An electrical problem caused all of it. There was a corroded wire from the computer to the trans that was the culprit. I ended up needing a new torque converter and a transmission pump. Thankfully they took care of me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Bigbeardenali1992 likes this.
  8. SnowDrifter

    SnowDrifter Full Access Member

    Posts:
    591
    Likes Received:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Location:
    Wa
    Name:
    Chris
    Great to hear!

    I'm a little curious why they replaced the converter + pump?
     
  9. Chase Epperson

    Chase Epperson TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Name:
    Chase
    From what I understood from the guy at the shop the converter failed and when it did it sent debris into the pump.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page