Torsion Bar tech 101

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

OP
OP
bowtiefreak

bowtiefreak

No Quarter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
technically the bars should come right out but you may need to "tap" them out with a hammer. Once the bars have been safely unloaded and the keys are out you're good.

Bodri

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Oops?

First off I am a fairly low grade beginner at this stuff so please keep in mind. I just changed the keys on my daughters 98 Chvy 1500 4x4. Now, as I have found in other posts my front end bounces like crazy. While I have found others say that's what you get for going cheap, I haven't found what I need to do to fix it. Is just lowering the front back down a little the best? You state the tbars will "settle" in some, should I wait for that? I really don't want her driving it like this, doesn't seem very safe. She is a country girl teenager that had to have her truck lifted and I didn't have the money for suspension system. I did put 3 inch left keys in, but did not max them out. Gained about 2.5 inches in lift. I didn't replace shocks, MUST this be done as well? I didn't have this trouble when I did this for her other truck (99 model). Any advice would be helpful. Thanks.

Fixer

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I realize this is an old thread and I'm new here, so I'll take what I can get. I just this evening started the process of replacing the upper and lower ball joints on a friends 99 4 door 4X4 Tahoe. My question has to do with skipping the first step in this tutorial, ( http://www.tribalvisiontruck.com/balljoints.htm ) which is unloading the pressure on the torsion bars. I only have the vehicle raised and the wheels are off, so I could go back to square one and start over. Would it be impossible to do the job if I continued and did not unload the torsion bars?

gettygatz4life

Full Access Member