1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Case for the Tech-2

Discussion in 'Garage' started by swathdiver, Dec 13, 2018.

  1. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Build It Better Supporting Member

    Posts:
    18,985
    Likes Received:
    32,748
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    I actually don’t remember, it’s been a minute.
     
    kbuskill likes this.
  2. gooffeyguy

    gooffeyguy Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,687
    Likes Received:
    3,752
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Name:
    Tom
    I bought mine from them a couple years ago. It came from China, shipped DHL, and only took about a week and a half, maybe two.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
    Big Mama and kbuskill like this.
  3. Fless

    Fless Full Access Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Elev 5,280
    Name:
    Steve
    So, I have a couple of questions about programming with a Tech 2. I have used mine standalone for a variety of tests on my '04, but have recently set up my laptop to run the TIS2000 program using Virtual WinXP. Kind of a convoluted setup, but it seems to work for as far as I have gotten. I'm able to control the Tech 2 with the laptop.

    As I understand it, one can program modules two ways:

    1) using the Tech 2 as a passthrough, connected to the truck and to the PC at the same time. Seems like this would allow programming directly from TIS2000 or, online using TIS2web.

    Or 2) starting the programming using only the Tech 2 connected to the truck, then disconnecting it and connecting it to the computer, running TIS2000 or TIS2web, then reconnecting the Tech 2 standalone to the truck.

    Is that seem correct? Does TIS2000 allow programming by itself?

    Assuming those two options, if TIS2000 has the programming I need, why would I pay for the subscription on TIS2web? Maybe I don't understand the difference between TIS2000 and TIS2web.

    I'd appreciate thoughts and comments from those of you with experience. (Not the Jimi Hendrix kind...)

    EDIT: corrected "TDSweb" to "TIS2web"
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2021
    swathdiver likes this.
  4. kbuskill

    kbuskill ***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!

    Posts:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    7,050
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    NE. FL.
    Name:
    Ken
    I used TIS2000 to program a new/used ECM for my buddy's 2001 Suburban.

    I just hooked up the Tech2 to the laptop and downloaded the programming and then disconnected the Tech2 from the laptop and hooked it up to his Burb and programmed it.

    For anything older than 2007 you shouldn't need anything other than TIS2000.

    The TDS is for 2008+ software from my understanding.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2021
  5. swathdiver

    swathdiver Full Access Member

    Posts:
    12,483
    Likes Received:
    13,064
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Treasure Coast, Florida
    Name:
    James
    You have it figured right and Ken provided an example. Online at ACDelco is really only for an update that may not be on the TIS2000 discs which you can find out for free by using TIS2Web. You can use the old TIS2000 for the 1990s through 2008 or so vehicles without the Can Bus architecture.
     
    Fless likes this.
  6. Tonyrodz

    Tonyrodz Resident Resident

    Posts:
    24,681
    Likes Received:
    31,303
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    Central Jersey
    Name:
    Tony
    Didn't GM start the Canbus system in 03?
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2021
  7. swathdiver

    swathdiver Full Access Member

    Posts:
    12,483
    Likes Received:
    13,064
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Treasure Coast, Florida
    Name:
    James
    I don't know, but for our trucks it was 2007. The 2005 and later GM redesigned minivans had it too.
     
  8. Fless

    Fless Full Access Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Elev 5,280
    Name:
    Steve
    I can confirm that this USB serial converter (dongle) works in WinXP:

    https://manhattanproducts.us/products/manhattan-en-usb-to-serial-converter-205153

    dongle.jpg

    I got mine at my local Microcenter store for $22.

    Curious, though, there are several drivers available on Manhattan's web site. When I had Virtual XP running under Win10 the driver that came on the included CD worked to connect to the Tech 2. However, that one didn't work on a laptop running XP natively; I had to use one of the ones on the Manhattan support site.
     
    swathdiver likes this.
  9. Fless

    Fless Full Access Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Elev 5,280
    Name:
    Steve
    For those of you using TIS2000, what version does yours show? Just curious if I have the latest for standalone, non-TIS2web programming. Here's mine:

    TIS2000_ver.jpg
     
  10. Sparksalot

    Sparksalot Full Access Member

    Posts:
    992
    Likes Received:
    1,818
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Location:
    Texas
    Name:
    Rex

Share This Page