Tahoe Died on Highway

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

99TahoeOwner

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I have a '99 Tahoe with 41,000 miles. It's in virtual showroom condition since it had been in storage for almost 15 years when I bought it a couple of months ago.

There are a few issues that concern me that I hope you guys can help me out with.

The first one I'll start with happened about a month ago. We were 6 hours into a road trip when it died while driving down the highway. No warnings, no sputtering, no CEL. I pulled off the highway, sat there a moment trying to figure out what went wrong, then I started it back up and it has run great ever since.

Any idea of what caused this? I'd hate for it to happen again, only next time not start back up. It'd rather be proactive and fix whatever caused it.

I'm only a Youtube mechanic, so I look forward to learning a lot from everyone here.

Dan

BG1988

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have a '99 Tahoe with 41,000 miles. It's in virtual showroom condition since it had been in storage for almost 15 years when I bought it a couple of months ago.

There are a few issues that concern me that I hope you guys can help me out with.

The first one I'll start with happened about a month ago. We were 6 hours into a road trip when it died while driving down the highway. No warnings, no sputtering, no CEL. I pulled off the highway, sat there a moment trying to figure out what went wrong, then I started it back up and it has run great ever since.

Any idea of what caused this? I'd hate for it to happen again, only next time not start back up. It'd rather be proactive and fix whatever caused it.

I'm only a Youtube mechanic, so I look forward to learning a lot from everyone here.

Dan
plug in a obd2 reader and tell us stored codes

you had lost of of 3 things

fuel
spark
or air

wjburken