Spark plug gap help

Discussion in 'Engine & Drivetrain' started by woody367, Oct 9, 2018.

  1. woody367

    woody367 TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Name:
    bob
    I am doing a full tune up on my 99 Yukon with the 5.7. The last tune up I used platinum plug this time I got AC Delco Iridium plugs. I have read that they have different gaps used, what gap should I set then to? My under hood info tag is missing. Thanks
     
  2. drakon543

    drakon543 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    900
    Likes Received:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Name:
    james
    .060
     
  3. woody367

    woody367 TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Name:
    bob
    Well I screwed something up today, guess it happens when rushing. Did the full tune up with all AC Delco parts. Gap all the plugs to 060, 6 were .045 and 2 were at .020 Started it up and runs like S**t and then a P0300 code pops up. I guess I have 2 wires crossed but did not have time to check it out. Will check in the AM.
    I also found the vacuum line from the heater control valve "I think that's what it is" hanging and do not know where it goes to. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  4. drakon543

    drakon543 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    900
    Likes Received:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Name:
    james
    can you take a picture of the valve? if you can show me before its too late tonight ill take a snapshot of mine so you can see exactly where it goes. if not maybe someone else can direct you or ill post again in the morning.
     
  5. woody367

    woody367 TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Name:
    bob
    Can do it tomorrow. It is on the passenger side in the middle of the heater hose going to the heater core.
     
  6. drakon543

    drakon543 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    900
    Likes Received:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Name:
    james
    20181009_222958.jpg
    20181009_223059.jpg
    if its the top valve your talking about it goes to this valve that sits right under the tank
     
  7. woody367

    woody367 TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Name:
    bob
    Found the problem had wires 6 abd 8 crossed, all fix now.
    Here is a photo of the valve "hope it can be seen" still can not figure where the vacuum line goes.

    KIMG0103.JPG
     
  8. drakon543

    drakon543 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    900
    Likes Received:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Name:
    james
    same valve in my picture it goes to the vacuum valve on the firewall mines right under the ac tank
     

Share This Page