Range AFM Delete and Emissions

Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Posts
3,655
Reaction score
5,642
Location
St. Louis
I've been running the Diablo I3 for a couple years now on the 2012 with the performance tune and AFM disabled, and a Diablo Predator on my 2001 for like 10 years or more with the canned tune and tire size changed. I never restore the stock tune before getting emissions tested, it tests fine.

If I were to make changes to the tune, or uninstall it, I would have to wait until the readiness monitors were ready before getting emissions done.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
 

wsteele

Full Access Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2020
Posts
1,697
Reaction score
2,268
I've been running the Diablo I3 for a couple years now on the 2012 with the performance tune and AFM disabled, and a Diablo Predator on my 2001 for like 10 years or more with the canned tune and tire size changed. I never restore the stock tune before getting emissions tested, it tests fine.

If I were to make changes to the tune, or uninstall it, I would have to wait until the readiness monitors were ready before getting emissions done.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Sorry I misread your previous post about the readiness monitors being reset when you flash your PCM. I don't mind doing a week or two of driving to reset the monitors to ready after changing a "tune", when I don't also have to go back to AFM mode during that week or two. I really don't want to drive in AFM mode for a few weeks every two years, after having it shut off for the previous two years. It may be an irrational fear, given the empirical evidence of others that have had no problems, but to me, it seems like a bad idea.

A while ago now you told me going with Diablo would be better than the Range device. I think I understand now. :)
 

wsteele

Full Access Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2020
Posts
1,697
Reaction score
2,268
I ordered a Diablo Predator and after I am done with my readiness monitor resets, I am going to give the PCM flash route a try.

I have done a little checking on our state's website regarding emissions regulations and for $14, I can go in for an "informational" emissions test anytime I want, so it will be pretty clear whether I will pass or not in my mandatory test, after the flash disable.

Our state follows the EPA rules as far as Readiness Monitors, allowing one to be not ready and still pass. Even CA allows an EVAP monitor to not be ready and still pass the test there.

After I flash the PCM with the AFM disable with the Diablo unit, I will do the same road tests to see how long it takes to reset the monitors and compare it to my experience with the Range device.

Anyone looking for a "like new" Range device, hardly used, blue LED's, shipping included... ;)
 

wsteele

Full Access Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2020
Posts
1,697
Reaction score
2,268
I may have missed this in the thread (which is great, BTW) but can the Range company provide any info on this issue?

I haven't reached out to them.

I think my experience so far jives with many here, that some of your readiness monitors will be cleared when either plugging the Range device in or when you remove it (I haven't gotten to the point where mine are reset yet, so I can use the Y cable to see if it is after plugging it in that you get some readiness flags, or when you remove it).

I am at 4 complete GM "Universal Trip" cycles and about 175 miles and I still have the four readiness monitor flags showing "Not Passed" as I did when I first removed the Range device. On one GM document I read, it stated readiness monitors can take up to 1000 miles in at least 5 drive cycles from cold start to reset.

No matter what I find out (and I will post all my results), I am going to sell my Range device and move on to using the Diablo Predator I ordered to shut my AFM off. I just don't want to have to drive around for a couple hundred miles plus, in AFM mode, to get my truck ready for its bi-annual emissions test.
 

Sparksalot

Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Posts
1,918
Reaction score
3,933
Location
Texas
SMH there is a smog check function. Here’s what I have.

device has only been in place a short time and 2-3 cold starts.

You must be logged in to see this image or video!
You must be logged in to see this image or video!
Another few cold starts and another hundred or so miles, and I still have the evap warning.
 

Sparksalot

Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Posts
1,918
Reaction score
3,933
Location
Texas
I did a quick test on theothertwin today with the blue driver. The evap is fine. Only one warning for O2 test not done.

You must be logged in to see this image or video!
 

wsteele

Full Access Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2020
Posts
1,697
Reaction score
2,268
I did a quick test on theothertwin today with the blue driver. The evap is fine. Only one warning for O2 test not done.

You must be logged in to see this image or video!

I am at over 200 miles and 7 cold starts and I have all four monitors not ready still. This week is going to be better, so I will give a full GM "Universal Trip" a run each day. Hopefully they will clear and I can move on to testing what plugging the Range device in does to the monitors, versus pulling it out.

In any case, I am convinced with my model year and revision level of the Range device, removing it before emissions testing means at least a couple weeks lead time.

My Diablo Predator Platinum came the other day and after I get done with the Range tests I wanted to do, will move on to that as my AFM disable. I have to say, startup with the Diablo unit didn't instill a great deal of confidence. Downloading the latest revision using their Mac download tool, didn't work at all. I pulled out my trusty HP laptop with Windows 10 and while I did get the latest revision downloaded and updated, it was a very glitchy process with a few user interface loops in it. Not the most confidence inspiring process when I consider it is going to be screwing with the ROMs in my PCM. :(
 

Forum statistics

Threads
116,071
Posts
1,586,800
Members
76,701
Latest member
22yukon
Top