Please help! Heat doesnt work!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

em5568

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Good morning all, and happy new year!

I just wanted to thank you all in advance for any tips and information!

I'm currently driving my 1999 Tahoe LE with the 5.7l Vortec, i've had the truck for 5 years, it currently has 180,000 miles on it and it's been an amazing truck. Next to no problems with the exception of a few small issues interior wise (as to be expected ;)).

The issue i am encountering now is that my heat does not work. This is my first time i've attempted to do anything hvac related on the tahoe but i'm fairy mechanically inclined. So, let me tell you the original issue i encountered and what i've done so far to perhaps help you rule out any issues. The heat does not work, it blows cold. for a while it would only blow hot air while driving (not sitting at an idle) which was bearable at the time, but now that it's 5 degrees in NY. Not so much anymore.

So far i've replaced
-Heater core
-Tstat (Checked opening temperature outside of truck)
-Lines to and from heater control valve
-Heater control valve itself
-Passenger side actuator
-Temperature sending switch (Not that it has anything to do with it, but i've used a temp gun along with
my gauges to make sure that the gauge was accurate, it wasnt working for a time. the temp is accurate.)
-Burped the coolant system
-no, i am not low on coolant.

A few other things i'd like to add to potentially make troubleshooting or ideas on your part easier.

The heat had worked temporarily as far as when driving AFTER i disconnected the small vacuum hose to the heater control valve.

I currently feel cold air comming from outside the truck while driving, I noticed the fresh air button/switch light is no longer working on my hvac cluster.