Newbie here and need advice based on mileage

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Scott Patrick

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I have an 05 tahoe 5.3l that my wife drives our kids around in. It's using about 3 quarts of coolant per month. I suspect it's the cracked head issue. It's got 180k+ on it and she drives about 30k miles a year. Should I replace engine or just heads? Vehicle is in pretty decent condition for the age. I would be doing the work with a buddy who has a lift thank God! Just wondering what would be the best option. I am a bit nervous with original trans to do an engine swap and bit nervous doing a head swap with possible bottom end damage from leak. It's been leaking into heads at least since we purchased in July. I'm sure you guys have some good advice and I'm ready to take it. Want to resolve the issue. ohh and she also has the heat cut in and out but I think that's just when fluid gets low. Usually is ok when I top it off.
Thanks all.
Scott

Scottydoggs

Full Access Member
Reaction score
id just do the heads, and if the tranny feels ok and its fluid is still red ish, do a pan drop and new filter and top it off. like 4 qts or so depending on what trans pan you have.

sadly you'll need a milk crate to stand on more so then a lift on a head job. be nice for draining the oil and coolant and the trans service tho. might want to do all fluids while your under there, both rears and the t case.

adriver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You're not going to know until you pull the covers off.

What other steps have you taken to make sure its not something else?
What heads do you have?
180K is not HIGH mileage for engine or trans.

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score