Need help with electrical issue!!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ed Ipema

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I'm new to this forum, just recently picked up a 2005 gmc yukon with the 5.3l v8. Lady i got it from parked it about 3 years ago because she was having some electrical issues with it. So as of right now the problem I'm having is when I hook up the battery (which is brand new) the truck automatically wants to start without the key in the ignition and also is leaking gas everywhere. I figured out the fuel problem after I dropped the tank and the fuel pump is completely rusted and broken so I know I need a new one of those. But as for when I hook up the battery and the truck wants to start on its' own, I have no idea what it could be. Any help from you guys would be great. Thanks again.

Tonyrodz

Resident Resident
Reaction score
I'm new to this forum, just recently picked up a 2005 gmc yukon with the 5.3l v8. Lady i got it from parked it about 3 years ago because she was having some electrical issues with it. So as of right now the problem I'm having is when I hook up the battery (which is brand new) the truck automatically wants to start without the key in the ignition and also is leaking gas everywhere. I figured out the fuel problem after I dropped the tank and the fuel pump is completely rusted and broken so I know I need a new one of those. But as for when I hook up the battery and the truck wants to start on its' own, I have no idea what it could be. Any help from you guys would be great. Thanks again.
I wonder if maybe it has something to do with the starter. A short to it.

OP
OP
E

Ed Ipema

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I wonder if maybe it has something to do with the starter. A short to it.