Lifter Issues on ‘21s Being Delivered to Dealers

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

wsteele

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I was an electrician who worked trouble shooting these very systems. If it is just a bad batch of lifters then GM has done a terrible job of finding and fixing the problem or they placed production and profit above all else sacrificing quality and reputation. Either scenario is extremely troubling. It would require a very long time of no reporting these problems before I would ever buy one and that is coming form someone who had anticipated the redesign for two years before they came to market.

One other thing, these lifters failure have been occurring since the introduction of AFM.
It took GM over two years to determine what the root cause of the AFM oil consumption problem actually was and how to remedy it. It has been what, 12 months since the first big wave of lifter failures started in the 21 MY? I guess even ISO 9000 has its limitations.

I agree AFM/DFM lifters can fail, but conventional lifters fail as well. Long before the MY ‘21 issues cropped up (and I had bought a MY21 truck), I had read all about the dreaded AFM lifter failure problem (guess where? You got it, the Internet).

I went into my guy at the local dealer and asked him point blank that I had been reading all about AFM lifter failures, that he knew my Yukon was pretty long in the tooth and if we should replace the AFM lifters or maybe do an AFM lifter delete? His response was, I have never had a customer truck that had an AFM lifter fail, zero. Just drive it and keep maintaining it like you do and you will be fine.

I will say, after his recent episode of dealing with these nightmarish lifter issues in the early 21MY, he also is no fan of DFM, but he is not worried about the engines they have done the full 16 on.