Intermittent SERVICE 4WD Message

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Michigan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
2004 Tahoe z71 4wd with 4auto, 2hi, 4hi, 4lo

I’ve had this truck for about a month now and have not had any issues with the 4wd system when I’ve tested it.

When testing I mean switching buttons from 2hi to 4hi and listening for the actuator to make the noise and engage. Im not an expert in other words. So when putting it to the test my way, it’s engaged fine and 4wd seams to work fine. Have not had any snow so haven’t had to use it yet.

I should note that the other day we had some heavy rain and I put it in 4auto in my drive back from work which was about 30 miles. No problems there and that night I also get back into my later that night and drive a few miles.

This morning I get into my truck and it was left in 4auto so I switch it back to 2 hi as it’s dry out and I drive it to work 30 miles no issues. 6 hours later get back into the truck to drive home and no issues.

After that drive about an hour and a half I get back into the truck and turn the key and no lights at all in the 4wd switch and the service 4wd message appears on the dic. I’m like wth, hit the button on the switch and nothing happens. Turn the truck off and back on and same thing happens. Then do the same and drive it around the block and come back and turn off and on and same thing happens so I decide to take a different vehichle.

Just got back home now about 5 hours later and decide let me go out to the truck and see what happens. Turn the key and the light comes on the switch and goes to 2hi where it left off and no message on the dic as if nothing ever happened. I hit the switch to 4hi and hear it actuate and turn over smoothly and then hit back to 2hi and switches fine. Idk