Change rear wheel bearings?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jjaaam

Reaction score
Hello - new member here...thanking all in advance for advice!

My 2015 Tahoe 4X4 LT has 104K miles on it and I think all of the wheel bearings are shot. I replaced the front hubs myself with Timkens and it quieted things down quite a bit. I was on the freeway yesterday and I still seem to be hearing some humming - I would think that it has to be the rear bearings. The passenger side rear has a bit of up/down play in it.

I'm a shade-tree mechanic but changing the rear bearings out doesn't look too bad overall - just time consuming. Has anyone ever changed the bearings while on jack stands? Will I have enough room to get to all of the bolts on the diff cover? I'm contemplating doing it myself because I called the dealer this morning...and, of course, since I'm over the 100K mark they won't cover it. Well, maybe they'll cover some, but he said I would have to bring it in and pay a $130 diagnostic fee just to verify that's what it is and then they'll see what/if GM would cover. He quoted me $800 to change both bearings. That's just nuts.

Looking for opinions and advice from those "in the know". Is this an easy job?

Rocket Man

Mark
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello - new member here...thanking all in advance for advice!

My 2015 Tahoe 4X4 LT has 104K miles on it and I think all of the wheel bearings are shot. I replaced the front hubs myself with Timkens and it quieted things down quite a bit. I was on the freeway yesterday and I still seem to be hearing some humming - I would think that it has to be the rear bearings. The passenger side rear has a bit of up/down play in it.