Adding/enabling tow/haul mode

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Chad98

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I just purchased a 2014 ppv that I want to enable the tow/haul mode on so I can tow my 17' bass boat. My question is what do I need? Do I just need the civilian Tahoe gearshifter with the tow button? Is the wiring for the tow/haul mode already there? Or would it just be ok to use the transmission in the manual mode by restricting it to 5th gear? I'm new to the ppv so I'd appreciate those of you who know about them to chime in, thanks!

Ron C

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have a 2014 ppv that I want to enablethe tow/haul mode on so I can tow my 17' bass boat. My question is what do I need? Do I just need the civilian Tahoe gearshifter with the tow button? Is the wiring for the tow/haul mode already there? Or would it just be ok to use the transmission in the manual mode by restricting it to 5th gear? I'm new to the ppv so I'd appreciate those of you who know about them to chime in, thanks!

Interesting, I would like to know how to do these things too (I am planning on towing my CJ5 on a flat bed trailer.)

Actually, yesterday I installed the DIC in the car, and it shows a bunch of options to turn on and off, besides all the other info.

Would be cool (or maybe there already is) a compact list of these options/settings without having to dig all through the manual.

Lightning 95

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I wished I had T/H mode too, but when I had my AFM tuned out I had him bump the shift points up a little, and it feels like it is tow/haul all the time. Maybe that's what he did, although there is no light. Haven't towed anything heavy yet, but it wouldn't be a big deal just to run it in M5 if needed.

Ron C

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I too am curious I have a 2010 Tahoe PPV.