6.2 Stalls/dies after highway or long drives dies coming to stop

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

T1uya

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
thought i would post this for everyone that needs to figure this out.
im an auto tech and i couldnt find any information on this problem
the 2011 chevy with a 6.2 i was working on was dying on long drives when you stopped it would die and wouldnt start for 20+ mins. no codes and it has, fuel pressure, injector pulse, spark, air, exhaust, compression was all there after it dies. so people were saying its the fuel rails getting hot, that was not the case. or the torque converter lock up
so come to find out its the cam position
when you hook up a good OBD scanner with CAM data and you look at the "actual cam position %" and the "desired CAM position %" and when it would die it wants 0% and the actual position was stuck at 30%

so the fix
replace the variable cam sprocket and the center bolt that controls the oil flow and we also did the magnetic cam solenoid

PROBLEM SOLVED!

figured i would post this when i could not find any information on the googles

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum from NH.

Lots of knowledgeable folks here who freely share their knowledge, experiences, and perspectives. Knowledge is power.

I hope that you will become a participating member in the Forum's discussions.

Pics of the truck, please.

Thank you for posting the solution to your issue.

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
the 2011 chevy with a 6.2 i was working on was dying on long drives when you stopped it would die and wouldnt start for 20+ mins. no codes and it has, fuel pressure, injector pulse, spark, air, exhaust, compression was all there after it dies. so people were saying its the fuel rails getting hot, that was not the case. or the torque converter lock up