<3k miles - 3rd time back for service. Seeking thoughts.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nickbeckss

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Newbie here, love all the helpful posts and DIY posts on this forum.

I'm looking for feedback on what I should do next and at what point to start thinking buyback... it seems like the service department doesn't know what is going on. We've got a new 2017 Yukon SLT 4x4, it'll be back in for service a 3rd time (3 work orders, but I've actually taken it back 4 times and they used an open work order once).

Thus far they have replaced the Fuel Level Sensor and the ECM. According to my SA, GM technical support has been involved... I guess they authorized the ECM replacement. Below is all the history. Vehicle now has 3k miles but at the time this issue first arose it was under 2k miles.

8/29
- Initial CEL
- Scheduled Appt for 9/1 was 1st Available

9/1
- CEL was lit upon drop off
- SA said was off when scanned.
- Techs found nothing wrong
- DTC had code stored
- Picked up on 9/2
- Also identified issue with Homelink intermittent issue and ambient light sensor

9/4
- CEL again lit
- Drove directly to dealership
- SA did not create a new ticket, prior ticket from 9/2 had not been closed yet, he pulled used ticket
- This time code was active
- Fuel level sensor was replaced
- Picked up evening of 9/4

9/16
- Fuel level indicator varying dramatically with tank at approx 7/8 full.
- Indicator showed half, empty, full.
- Refueled, only took 3.6 gallons
- Gauge indicated full

9/17 morning
- CEL illuminated
- Fuel gauge indicated empty but would change while driving

9/17 evening
- Tried remote start via app and fob, remote start failed.
- upon unlocking and starting, rough idle (sounds like misfiring), red oil indicator displayed, fuel empty, lots of warning lights, DIS indicated engine at reduced power