1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3.5” Lift on 2016 Tahoe, no aluminum knuckles??

Discussion in 'Lifted Supension - Z71 & 4x4' started by BrownSunshine, May 20, 2020 at 5:50 PM.

  1. BrownSunshine

    BrownSunshine TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Name:
    Justin
    So we just bought my wife a 2016 Tahoe and I had every intention of putting the RC 3.5” lift on it. Was going to order but noticed in the instructions that the kit won’t work with aluminum knuckles!!!

    Started looking at the Fabtech 4” but then in the instructions it says to drill out the upper ball joint with a 1/2” drill bit.

    So if I have to do that with the Fabtech, could I do that with the RC? RC tech support just said “ball joints won’t fit” so I didn’t know if drilling them out would work.
     
  2. bigxj91

    bigxj91 TYF Newbie

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Name:
    Joshua
    I ran into the same issue (2017). I ended up buying the Superlift 3.5 for the 1500 and piecing together a 2 inch rear spacer, shock/sway bar extensions. I’ll hopefully get it on later this week. I tried talking to a couple of reps from RC who were less than helpful. Which is sad I’ve used their stuff in the past.
     
  3. BrownSunshine

    BrownSunshine TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Name:
    Justin
    Well I finally called RC and spoke with someone instead of chatting with someone online. I was told that the kit now comes with sleeves that will let you use it with aluminum knuckles.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. BrownSunshine

    BrownSunshine TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Name:
    Justin
    Let me know how that works out for you. After test fitting some wheels and tires I realized this thing has stamped control arms, which apparently the RC kit doesn’t work with those either


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page