04 Yukon Denali self accelerates briefly at prolonged idle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ken Taylor

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Im stumped! A little of my background, I'm the original owner. I've done all maintenance on this vehicle according to the maintenance manual schedules and beyond. I'm a plumber (40 yrs) by trade, not a professionally trained mechanic. But i can do my fair share and beyond at fixing things with the help of Utube, etc . . To my problem, About a year ago I was in a fast food drive thru line that wasnt moving so fast and while my foot was on the brake i got a lunge, self acceleration. At first I thought maybe my foot partly touched the gas pedal but no, I didnt. K, that was weird. A couple months go by and it happened again in heavy traffic at a long stop light. Another few months go by and it happened again, this time it died afterwards. Started right back up, no problem again. Then my fuel pump went out. Located in the tank of course so I replaced the pump and thought I better go ahead and replace plugs, wires, radiator, hoses, battery, got a new K&M air supply & filter etc . . The cars 14 yrs old, 101k never had problems with the vehicle but thought I'd just upgrade just cause. Using all AC Delco when I could. Anyways, this self acceleration is happening more frequently now. I took it to a shop nearby, left it over a day and mechanic said it never acted up. He didnt even charge me which was kinda weird, but cool of them. Driving home it happened again, a block from the shop that said they couldnt find a problem. Couple days go by I took it to another shop, left it there for 3 days. They said it acted up once but couldnt find the problem. I went ahead and changed throttle body, throttle sensor, cleaned MAF (again), order a bunch of other sensors, etc . . So here I am, HELP! Really appreciate any advice