“Driver Door Open” message on 2009 Tahoe LTZ

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RJLTZ09

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I took the driver door innards apart to replace the door lock actuator and now I see the above message on the dash even when the door is firmly closed. Since there isn’t a switch in the door hinge area anymore, the switch must be in the actuator and must be communicated through the connectors that are under the switch plate at the driver’s left hand. Does anyone know which connector is the culprit or the cause of the erroneous message?

This is my first attempt at posting so please forgive the double posting in Conversations.

OP
OP
R

RJLTZ09

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Great question. I always have the interior lights turned off because of how often I load and unload the vehicle, so I wouldn’t have noticed that. I’m away from the Tahoe until tomorrow afternoon and will have to answer then. Thanks!

OP
OP
R

RJLTZ09

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Do the dome lights stay on too?
Got back late today, driving a different car. The dome light in the Tahoe didn’t work as it should. I need to spend more time with it tomorrow. Thanks.

Cb2004mj

Reaction score
let us know what you figure out, I'm having a similar problem with the door switch not telling the truck its open, so opposite issue but same switch. radio stays on and lights don't react with door open. i have door panel off for window regulator replacement. have new exterior handles coming next week so ill do this all at once if you find a resolve or culprit wire to inspect

OP
OP
R

RJLTZ09

TYF Newbie
Reaction score