To baffle or not to baffle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kbuskill

***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!
Reaction score
That is the question....

And it has me baffled to be honest as I have never used them before.

I know that Crutchfield recommends them for our trucks but that doesn't exactly give me a warm and fuzzy feeling when a company that is in business to make money, as they should be, tells me they recommend that I buy something they sell.

Could be honesty or it could just be marketing.

Anyway I would be curious to hear what you guys think, especially those of you that may have used them before.

Something like these...

rps20180417_190430_624.jpg

I researched on here with mixed reviews... some said they installed them but never gave a report as to how they sounded.

One guy, who said he had a recording studio and a good ear, said he had to cut a hole in the baffle to let the speakers breathe before they sounded right.

For those of you who don't know I recently installed sound deadener on my doors as such...

rps20180417_190944_317.jpg
rps20180417_191024_604.jpg
rps20180417_191102_428.jpg
rps20180417_191138_484.jpg

It helped quite a bit with road noise and I think it also improved the overall sound of the factory Bose speakers but its really hard to compare when you can't listen to the deadened VS non deadened back to back.

I am very seriously contemplating upgrading the speakers to some Infinty speakers I have been eyeing and was thinking about doing baffles at the same time but having no experience with them I wanted to ask beforehand.

I always hate changing more than one thing at a time because there are to many variables.

I thought about just installing baffles on the Bose speakers to see if there would be any improvement but it would be very difficult due to how the Bose speakers are mounted.