SUV prices in your area?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Idaho45guy

Reaction score
I've been shopping for an SUV for a few months now and have had sticker shock.

I had a 2014 Ram 1500 quadcab that I bought new and lifted and modified for mild off-roading. I paid it off and was looking to trade down. It had 50k miles on it. Wanted $20k for the truck and a used SUV worth $10k so I could take $10k cash and pay off my credit cards.

I started looking and couldn't believe the prices.

Every full-size SUV I looked at that had under 100k miles was over $12k.

I originally wanted a Toyota Sequoia with around 100k miles or less. Nothing under $15k no matter how old.

I started finding some Ford Expeditions and Chevy Tahoes for around $7k but they had 150k to 200k miles and were pretty beat up.

This was within 250 miles of my zip code...

When I saw my Yukon at the local Nissan dealer for $10k with only 81k miles on it, I figured it was trashed. I ran down there and was surprised at how nice it was. The right front speaker is blown and the center console won't latch. And the left side climate control temp light is burned out. That's it. Otherwise it is mint.

I know ten grand seems like a lot for a 13 year old SUV with 81k miles on it, but around here it is a good deal.

I know in the Midwest and Northeast, with the salt and stuff, a vehicle is pretty much done for after ten years. I lived in Iowa for a few years and couldn't believe the damage from the salt.

I imagine that keeps prices pretty low for older rigs like ours...

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score