service traction control/stabilitrak at 50mph

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

countryboy040993

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
ok so when i start my truck everything is fine.. drive down the road and everything is good until i hit 50mph then service stabilitrak and traction control comes up.. i can drive all day under 50mph and no lights as soon as i hit 50mph it comes up.. any ideas? im new to all this new stuff..

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I would recommend hooking up a decent scanner and see what is taking place (in real time) could be steering sensor, could be wheel hub sensor or even something else.

PG01

Supporting Member
Reaction score
ok so when i start my truck everything is fine.. drive down the road and everything is good until i hit 50mph then service stabilitrak and traction control comes up.. i can drive all day under 50mph and no lights as soon as i hit 50mph it comes up.. any ideas? im new to all this new stuff..
Im gonna guess wheel hub sensor since it happens at speed. I could be wrong tho, but like douby posted prolly gotta look at real time on a scanner, or unplug and plug back in....

hound_dog

Reaction score
I had the Stabilitrak light come on before and it was the $18 sensor that is connected to the brake pedal. My symptoms were that the cruise control would turn off after some amount of time. I could hear that it was no longer clicking when I pressed the brake pedal (a broken sensor thinks the brake is being applied). I know this doesn't match the symptoms you reported but thought I'd mention it in case it helps you or someone else. I've actually had to replace this part twice in 10 years (163k).

Daniel12

TYF Newbie
Reaction score