Rebuilding front suspension - how far to go

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

08HoeCD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My rig's got 130k miles on her and the front end seems all original, except for the recently replaced struts and hub bearing assemblies. I'm planning to replace my upper & lower control arms before long, as ball joints are worn, so it got me wondering how far to go with the rebuild planning.

I'm new to this platform and rebuilding the suspension, so I'd love to hear from those who have replaced upper & lower control arms in terms of what you wish in hindsight you'd replaced along the way.

Rocket Man

Mark
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I did the steering too- Pitman arm, tie rod ends, idler arm, idler arm bracket. Also upgraded the swaybar and end links and associated bushings. There's not much else to do after that. Mine was at 145k and I'd think you're due for steering components too; might as well get it all done at once, get it aligned once and be done with it. I also added a steering stabilizer at the same time, a KYB that was only about $45. Night and day difference after all that.

OP
OP
08HoeCD

08HoeCD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I did the steering too- Pitman arm, tie rod ends, idler arm, idler arm bracket. Also upgraded the swaybar and end links and associated bushings. There's not much else to do after that. Mine was at 145k and I'd think you're due for steering components too; might as well get it all done at once, get it aligned once and be done with it. I also added a steering stabilizer at the same time, a KYB that was only about $45. Night and day difference after all that.

You have confirmed what I was pondering, and it's good to hear from someone who's already been down the road before.