Newbie here. Bought a 2010 Yukon Denali 6.2L last year

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bullochdawg

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
This morning, noticed a tapping on the way to work. Was constant. Can't say it got worse; maybe better, then worse, and back and forth.

Sounds like a lifter tapping. Close as I can tell, it seems to be coming from the right side (left facing the engine), right around the oil filler cap. Maybe the forward most valve on that side.

What would be a good method of determining whether its a rocker/oil pump/etc.?

In my limited reading, it could be a number of things. I'm going to see if throws any codes this evening.

Any suggestions on where to start troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated.

mr tahoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I would go to a mechanic he should pin point it exactly

OP
OP
B

Bullochdawg

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Thanks Tahoe. I'm definitely taking it to a mechanic. I just want to make sure they do an exhaustive analysis, and not just jump to conclusions.
I want to be able to ask all the right questions to make sure they've checked all possibilities and how they came to their conclusion.

Thanks again

OP
OP
B

Bullochdawg

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Just got back from mechanic. he listened top and bottom and determined it's a rod bearing. He said only for sure way is to drop the pan and check the bearings.
Taking it to the dealership tomorrow for a second opinion.
Not good news. He's saying you have to pull the engine to replace the bearings...and you might as well change all of them while you have it out...and I'd be better off just getting another used engine.
This one has 152,000. Gone too soon.
Hoping dealership gives me better news

Brian Wilson

Full Access Member
Reaction score