Need Advise, Low Oil Pressure and Lifter Noise

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BigDatx

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hello All,

New member and looking for advice from people familiar with Tahoe and Chevy's. Been wrenching on cars since I was a kid but I'm new to the Tahoe.

2004 Tahoe LT AWD 5.3 Vortec 190k

I'll start from the beginning. Driving to work one morning and heard loud engine noise, almost a clunking. At the same time the motor lost power. I had to stay on the gas to keep it running. I managed to get off the road and into a side neighborhood very close to my house and I decided to try to limp it home. Halfway there the problem vanished like it never even happened. I thought wth? Maybe a bad sensor or something? As the problem had gone away completely I figured I would have to keep driving it until the problem reproduced itself.

Flash forward a week and I do a scheduled oil change. A day or two later I notice I have lower oil pressure than normal at idle ~20 psi (according to indash gauge) but no engine noise or any other symptoms. Pressure is normal while driving. I thought maybe I got a bad filter and swapped it but the pressure did not go back to normal. A day or two later I was getting off the highway after a ~70mi drive and when I pull up to the light (by my house luckily) the oil pressure drops to almost zero and I get the low pressure warning in the info center. At the same time I start hearing valve noise.

I took the Tahoe to a shop so they could verify oil pressure with mechanical gauge. They confirmed it was way too low.