looking to buy my first ever GMT800

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

HACK BLOCK

Full Access Member
Reaction score
since my family is starting to get bigger with my third child on the way i'm finally in need of something with a 3rd row. so me and the wife agreed on a tahoe/yukon but since this is my first time ever looking to buy 1 or even own an american car in general i have lots of questions. i'm buying this car as a family car for the fall/winter so about the next 6 months, after that ill buy a brand new car and i'm not sure if ill sell it after or keep it

i've always had the mindset that you should buy the newest model possible within your budget. so that puts me in the range of 00-06. i was told by some that that i shouldn't even consider anything older than a 2004. i could find some 07+ but its mostly old taxi/ubers over 200k. so would it be worth it to spend all my money and get a 07+ with that kind of mileage (i always run a carfax and have it inspected) and hope nothing expensive happens or get something older and keep the change to fix anything wrong with it?

right now im looking at 05-06 tahoes and yukons. i prefer the yukon for the bigger engine but like the exterior of the tahoe better. am i beating myself up for only looking at 05-06 or the differences in the years not that big of a deal? couple of car i been looking at are

2005 red z71 with 205k asking $3500 1 owner car

2005 white denali with 165k asking $5300 but says it needs front suspension links and front right axle

2006 black yukon with 223k asking $4900 1 owner car

2009 tahoe lt with 238k asking $7500

couple things i know for sure i want is leather, rear entertainment and rear bench seats instead of rear captains so should i expand my search, just stick with a 2005-2006 , or press my luck with a 07+

PNWMuseumman

Bow Ties Are Cool
Reaction score