Do I really need 4WD? 2017 Yukon XL Denali

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

IIDXholic

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I'm having a hard time finding a 2017 Denail because of 3 things, Crimson Red Tincoat, 4WD and Bench seat (Wife wants red, I have a family of 8 and 2 PWC's we take to the lake on occasion). It looks like I'm going to have to order it, but I keep asking myself, do I really need the 4wd? I live in Texas so snow here is non existent, but can ice on rare occasions. The only time it would be utilized, is when putting the jetskis in water.

There are 2WD's all over the place, and for a lot less, vs going the whole order your vehicle route. I currently have a 2014 SLT w/ 4WD and have no issues getting out of mud (done it only once), and towing/dropping the jetskis in water, so I have no experience with the 2wd variant. Your help and experience is appreciated.

2011SSVHOE

I'm an egual oportunity offender
Reaction score
try putting the jet skis in the water in 2wd, if it works ok you will be the Judge !!! I may be a dumbass here, is your current vehicle AWD ? if so disregard or borrow a friends vehicle for the test.

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You only need 4WD when you really really could have used it. For 99.9% of the time, you'll have no use for it living in the south and in the burbs.

The proper tires can allow ones truck to do many things like a 4x4 with only 2x4.

P.S. - Denalis are AWD or 2WD not 4WD/4x4 unless something new has come along.

gat0r

Full Access Member
Reaction score
the one time you need it, it totally pays for itself.

especially on a steep boat ramp ;)

i had to pull my buddies truck & boat up a ramp w/ my truck... it was a priceless moment & his wife never lets him forget it :Big Laugh:

&
2wd or 4wd are options on 15+ models
not sure i have seen AWD options on the newer SUVs