Detailed my New 2011 Black Tahoe

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NCTahoe

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So before accepting my new job up here in Buffalo, NY I was in college and during school I ran a part time detailing company which I had great success with. I'm a self-taught detailer and have been detailing customer cars for a little over 2 years now. I picked up my new 2011 Black Tahoe Z71 on November 14th and got straight to detailing it. Here is my write up of it that I did for Autogeek.net

Here are some pics when I picked it up:
IMG_2654 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr
IMG_2657 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr

Looks pretty decent! The truck was in phenomenal shape! 60k miles and interior is in great shape minus the crappy oily interior stuff the dealer put all over it. It took a while to scrub all of that off of every single interior surface.

Upon closer inspection however, the paint was hammered. Very deep rids and swirls all over the vehicle.
IMG_2821 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr
IMG_2822 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr
IMG_2824 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr

My goal was to eliminate the swirls and some of the light-medium RIDS (random isolated deep scratches). I went with a two step paint correction using my Flex 3401. First step was Lake Country Purple Foamed Wool pad with Menzerna FG400. I first tried a Lake Country Orange hybrid pad but it just wasn't cutting it. Here are the results with the foamed wool pad. Lots of hazing but that was expected with a foamed wool pad.
IMG_2826 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr
IMG_2831 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr
IMG_2838 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr
IMG_2841 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr

IMG_2852 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr
IMG_2853 by Chris Merritt, on Flickr

After this I followed up and finished it with CarPro Reflect on a Lake Country White Hyrbid pad. Here are the results.