***** on this one

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jon Chimpo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
hey all,

New here, Im new to the tahoe platform. I own a 98 chevy silverado z71. I'm 34, married no kids, live in Sacramento CA. no im not a *******. we love everything about CA, but the government, taxes, the way taxes are dispersed, stripping away of rights, nanny statism. in my free time I work on my house, ride my super moto, dick around in the garage. enough about me, on to my story.

last week my wife and I were needing another suv, I've always loved the 04 tahoe body style, so does my wife. so we bought one. I shook it down, found a few issues nothing major. bought it for 8500.
04 tahoe 4x4 z71 129k fully loaded with 2nd row captains. stoked!

well tonight I was doing the new used car maintenance, oil change, plugs, tranny service, diffs/the case, brakes ect.. well I noticed when I pulled off the filter it was full of sludge. ******** it. OKay, pulled the R valve cover, caked with sludge. damn it we got *****. this car was neglected, its sad someone would do this to their car. I'm over being pissed, I've hit the acceptance stage, soon I'll want to negotiate.. being our options are pretty limited, im thinking of replacing the motor, rebuilding myself, do nothing and driving till its dead, or parting it out. I'm leaning towards rebuilding.
I'm not a mechanic, I've never tackled a job this big, but I think i can do it. I've been wrenching for awhile, and have learned a lot.

I don't really want to try and flush it out, I think I'll be asking for it. I think my first point is going to pull the valve covers, and the oil pan and start cleaning. if I'm going to try and save the motor.
or crate Motor, or pull it apart and rebuild.