Bad Trailer Sway/ 02 Yukon XL SLT. Changes to make?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ghetto Jet

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
What simple mods should I do to improve towing stability?

Yesterday was my first time towing anything sizable. I'm a very experienced driver, I was expecting this to be pretty easy. It wasn't. Stock everything, LT tires, tire pressure close to max. I did a 100 mile trip with an 08 Impala on my friends trailer. He has a great deal of towing experience and went along with me. I installed a brake controller. At 55 or higher, the sway was pretty bad. Bad enough that my friend asked me to get off the highway at one point. A constant battle. Trailer weighs about 1600-1700# the car, around 3700# My Yukon, maybe 5500.

I think part of the problem was we backed the Impala onto the trailer because too much of it was hanging off the end when we pulled up onto the trailer facing forward. Putting excess weight on the back of the trailer and away from the tongue. I was using an adjustable trailer hitch to get extra height, it was perfectly level loaded.

I figure there are some proven changes that won't hurt to make. One person said coil spring bags. I did some reading last night, weight distribution bars look like they would help. I plan to use this to tow again.

bfourman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What simple mods should I do to improve towing stability?