A/C compressor not coming on.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

h0tr0d

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, we're up to 80 degrees here in Texas and my air conditioner stopped working over the winter and I need it to start working fast since I haul my kiddo around in it.

So far, I've checked the pressure, and it was a tad low, but it still had some. I jumped the low pressure switch (I think it's on the aluminum canister by the passenger side firewall) to no avail. I ran two wires to the battery to test the compressor clutch and it does engage the clutch when 12v is applied, yet it still doesn't seem to be cooling.

What else should I try? I'm fairly new to troubleshooting a/c systems. Do you think it could be the A/C relay?

Any help is appreciated,
-Pat

retorq

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You said you checked it and it was low, did you fill it up?? Perhaps it's a blocked filter??

OP
OP
h0tr0d

h0tr0d

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I had the can connected to it and it filled it from about 1/4 on the blue scale to nearly touching the red before I disconnected it. Which filter are you referring to?

retorq

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It's along skinny thing that goes in one of the hoses. I'm no AC expert, mine was filled with gunk when I first got the truck, a local shop fixed it.

OP
OP
h0tr0d

h0tr0d

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure I'm prepared to de-pressurize the system just yet before checking some other options. On another note, I checked the relay and it tested good. The 10A fuse in the relay box for the A/C is good as well.

bowtiefreak

No Quarter
Supporting Member
Reaction score