2015 Tahoe LTZ front shock/strut replacement options?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

deltabowhunter

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I have a 2015 Chevy Tahoe LTZ with 60,000 miles that just started popping a few days ago in slow speed turns, left or right. I checked my ball joints and there's no play. I took it to the local Chevy dealer and they said my shock abosorbers are shot and want $1900 (parts and labor) to replace the front shocks.

1. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but have worked on my own trucks for the last 18 years and I've never had a worn out shock make a pop only when turning at slow speeds. That seems odd to me.

2. Assuming the shocks are bad does anybody make a complete strut replacement for these magnetic ride vehicles? I'd like to just do the swap myself, but I don't want to compress the spring to replace the shock. I'd rather just replace the entire assembly as it is much easier since I don't have a spring compressor and I enjoy having all of my front teeth.

mark warren

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I have a 2015 Chevy Tahoe LTZ with 60,000 miles that just started popping a few days ago in slow speed turns, left or right. I checked my ball joints and there's no play. I took it to the local Chevy dealer and they said my shock abosorbers are shot and want $1900 (parts and labor) to replace the front shocks.

1. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but have worked on my own trucks for the last 18 years and I've never had a worn out shock make a pop only when turning at slow speeds. That seems odd to me.