1996 2 Door: Talk me out of it

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Scoutcamper

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hey All,

Looking at buying a 2 Door Tahoe in 2 days, it is a 1996 5.7l Vortec, 4x4, Sport Edition, 101,250 miles, passed smog. The owner wants $5000 for it which was really my max budget.

Current owner claims it runs good, shifts good, and is in great shape. The paint is about shot on it(clear coat is gone), and the leather drivers seat bolster is worn out completely.

What are reasons not to buy this? I am a college student who currently drives a Miata, so the fuel of this rig is going to be a big hit to my budget. I am a member of a Sheriffs Search and Rescue team so I do need a vehicle that has great 4x4 and a halfway decent towing capacity.

What are the first few things that will go out? When will the trans go? What about the motor? I live in Northern California where it gets to 110f regularly over the summer, so AC must work good, what maint should I be expecting on that?

Is there anything about this vehicle that would be unreliable or strand me on the side of the road? My Miata has been absolutely reliable, so I hesitate to give it up for an unknown.

Anything special I should check when I go look at it? I am planning to go see it tomorrow unless someone talks me out of it...

Thanks in advance,
Scoutcamper

east302

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It being 21 years old, it's the little things that can nickel and dime you unless you do your own work. New tires alone can approach $1000.

A common repair is a leaking lower intake manifold gasket. It's probably already been done, but with only 100k miles, it could be original. Assume $800 for a shop to replace it, considerably less if you have the time to do it yourself. Check for coolant leaks and see if coolant is in the oil.